The superintendent would all the time

In his nice method, the superintendent would all the time clarify that it doesn’t matter what work be given to her it will be onerous for an outdated girl. Repeatedly he informed her that she was within the residence to relaxation and to take pleasure in her outdated age.

However there was one factor that disturbed the superin-tendent, the housekeeper, and her room companions.

It was recurring for Yente Leavitt to choose up two or three slices of white bread after every meal and convey them to her room. They tried to interrupt her of this behavior by ex-plaining that crumbs of meals weren’t sanitary. The pleas that she may get all of the meals she needed between meals and that the pots for tea have been all the time on the fireplace, have been of no avail.

Yente Leavitt carried bread to her room with out stop.

One afternoon after minchah (afternoon prayer) when Yente Leavitt was leaving the synagogue, the superin-tendent invited her to his workplace. She was not shocked  at receiving his invitation, for she felt that there was nothing critical concerned.             .

After he invited her to make herself comfy in a chair, he turned and spoke smilingly.

“Mrs. Leavitt, I learn article in a medical journal final night time which may be very attention-grabbing.

She appeared up together with her shiny eyes, and together with her chm nonetheless exhibiting the hint of a dimple, and pleasantly requested, “What’s a medical journal?”

“Nicely,” he defined, “it’s a journal the place they te folks the right way to maintain their well being; what to eat; what to drink; and the right way to be properly.”

The phrases “what to eat” gave her the primary alarm. Her nice temper was modified and she or he inquired suspiciously, “What has this journal to do with me? I’m feeling advantageous. I’ve all I would like. I’m not kicking. “Nicely,” the superintendent began to elucidate, a distinguished physician has an article on this journal wherein he explains that for outdated folks an excessive amount of white bread is unhealthy. It helps their digestion after they eat pumpernickel. Pumpernickel helps in some ways, whereas white bread is constipating.

Yente Leavitt appeared into the face of the supermtendent for just a few moments and laughed.

“Many instances you wrote letters for me to my wealthy son. After all, he ignored my writings. That isn’t your fault. Might I ask you presently yet one more private favor?”

 

Published by

party531

My name is Bisera and I am a student at university. I am still at the beginning of my road. I believe that I have to improve and get better always.

Leave a Reply

